WI BIMMERS - Wisconsin's BMW Community

332ti, a compact story.

alexw

In two years of this sites existence I've had my fair share of BMW's. An E30 M3, 325iX, 318is and a Cooper S (wife's car). As of yesterday I sold my clean slicktop 318is to a forum member in MN. Him and a buddy made a 6 hour drive and took my E30 away. I was left with no car, just my wife's new to her, 07 Mini Cooper S. I intended on an "upgrade" from the E30. I was looking for a E36 M3 to fool around with. I found many, most with high miles and questionable modifications. I toyed with another E30 or an E28 and perhaps undertaking a swap. I then came full circle. The first BMW I really got into was the 318ti. I'm not overly certain why or how I first came to like the 318ti, but one thing was for sure, I'd have to do a swap. I literally have drawings from high school (almost 14 years ago when I was a freshman) of my ideas... I even bought a swap manual from "J!m" on 318ti.org that I recently found. That's before stuff was all over the Internet and the info was hard to find.

So with a few grand in cash in hand, I headed to Craigslist. I found several 318ti's locally, most which we're in piss poor shape. One great thing about living in Kenosha is that I'm smack dab in between two large cities, lots of options for car buying... Also I typically get Milwaukee and Chicago results in my racine.craigslist.org results. I happened to find an ad for a 318ti in Appleton which had an "M conversion". Car was listed for $4,995, here's the original link, http://appleton.craigslist.org/cto/4064087670.html

1997 BMW 318ti with 3.2L M3 engine. Only 65,000 miles on engine. Body in excellent condition, 5 speed, moon roof, BBS 17" wheels, M3 front brakes, new rear brakes, very good tires. The only thing it needs is rear trailing arm bushings / rear sub frame bushings. Please email if interested.