WI BIMMERS - Wisconsin's BMW Community

My 1992 318is, I guess you could call it a build thread

m42b32

I guess i'll introduce myself a bit first, I am a mechanical engineering student at school out in PA but have lived in WI all my life. I have always been into cars and for the past three years I have worked at a classic car shop in the Delafield area so I have a bit of experience (Still learning a ton of course). Ive been on this forum for a while but never really posted anything so I figured I'd start a thread on my never ending project/DD 318is. 

I've had this car since I bought it in the winter of 2010/2011 (I guess you could call it my first car, the previous one was owned by my parents). It is a sterling silver 1992 318is, 5-speed, with 147k on it when I bought it. The only option is the leather steering wheel and shift knob, other than that it has a full gray cloth interior, 7 button OBC, and all the other base things. It had sparse service history so I had it inspected by European Auto House in Mequon and it looked to be very well maintained compared to most but it still needed work. 

Here it is the day I bought it:
6338395684_03361006b8_z.jpg

I went home, spent two days detailing the car, replaced all the fluids, put on the summer tires, painted the rockers in the correct color, and added a front plate delete to clean it up a bit.
6336371698_d225e91e75_z.jpg
6335634873_a4a3a3ac2b_b.jpg

over the next year I completed quite a bit of maintenance, almost all work done by me, on my shoe-string budget.
- guibo
- power steering return line
- shift shaft trans seal
- oil pan gasket
- clutch slave cylinder
- rear trailing arm bushings (replaced with poly)
- more stuff I can't remember

I also picked up a set of 17 inch Mille Miglia MM11's with some yokohoma 235/40/17's on them to sharpen up the handling. I also blacked out the grilles and stained the fog lenses yellow for a meaner look to match the wheels:
7109864711_84f91ed745_c.jpg