WI BIMMERS - Wisconsin's BMW Community

Reducing turbo lag: What should my next step be?

B C

Question

Things that do not get old:  Rear end just a tidbit sideways, tires lightly spinning, while still gripping enough to accelerate, all the way through 2nd gear.

Things that keep me awake at night: A non-turbo M20 would be a lot more fun around a racetrack than this due to turbo lag. And this matters because it is my intention to do the occasional track day.

Currently I am running a T3/T4E  .63 A/R hot side .60 A/R cold side  journal bearing CX Racing turbo.
I sized it for 350hp at 15psi.  I am currently at 12psi and am quite certain I am a little over the 300hp mark right now and extremely pleased with the performance on the top end.

under full load, boost begins at 2800 rpm and 12psi is attained from 5000 rpm and up.

The power comes on just a bit too suddenly after a bit of lag.  I am very new to the forced induction game so I do not know what to expect from my own car, but I would like to think that it doesn't have too much lag. BUT, its enough lag that I think it would be bothersome for track duty.

I want to reduce lag without hindering the top end pull too much.  There are a few different things I have in mind, but I need some input and opinions on what might be the best move to take to achieve the goal.

A) Keep the same size+spec of turbo, but get a brand name version (Garrett/Turbonetics etc)    concern: might spend $$$ for little to no difference

B ) Keep the same size+spec of turbo, but get a ball bearing version (Either CX Racing OR Garrett/Turbonetics)

concern: my research indicates that ball-bearing turbos are not rebuildable and are not as durable as journal bearing turbos, id hate to wreck one.

C) Go one size smaller CX Racing  T3/T4E .50A/R cold side (has a more modern compressor design as well)

concern: might not reduce lag as much as id like it to, might lose more top end than id like to.

D)Get an adjustable cam gear to help the low end