WI BIMMERS - Wisconsin's BMW Community

135i Spec clutch / MFactory SMFW install

i_love_cars

Figured it couldn't hurt to document a bit of this here. There is limited N55 clutch install info online, most of it is around the N54. I studied up on the utterly awesome DIY video that HPF put out on doing an n54 135i clutch a few years back. There's nothing tricky but they just provide a great order of operations for removal of parts that speeds things along. It helps when you don't need to do much assessment while you're under the car to take stock of what bolts and pieces need to come off. 

So all my parts finished arriving yesterday and I originally was planning to start on Wednesday night with a 4 day weekend ahead of me. F that. I couldn't wait. 
spec_clutch_zpsx3jrdoos.jpg

First thing I noticed was that getting the cowl off for the N55 to get back by the firewall for the top bellhousing bolt is easier than the N54. There are a couple of harnesses that have to be detached on the N54 and those harness don't exist on the N55. Just popped the brake fluid reservoir cover, remove 2 bolts and plastic clips from the cabin filter, 6 bolts for the cowl underneath and you're done. 

Second thing is on the N54 you need to unclip/label the o2 sensors as they are mounted to the transmission housing. This is not so on the N55. There are fewer things in the way on the N55 just in general from what I'm seeing. 

So last night I got the exhaust/cross member, heatshields, drive shaft, and cowls hiding the firewall out of the way:

clutch_phase1_zpscaajba7l.jpg